The First Notebook

Before I got into pole, I was a serious reader. I still love reading, but I don’t have as much time to read now as I did before pole. I read around 30 book blogs regularly, and was pretty involved in one (I commented tons, and even wrote a few articles on the site). One awesome thing that particular book blog (Forever Young Adult!) did was host a gift exchange. You put a little about you and some books you wanted, and you got matched with another random person somewhere in your country. I don’t remember what I got my match, but she got me A Wrinkle in Time (yes!) and The True Meaning of Smekday, which is the weirdest and most hilarious book I’ve ever read. In addition to the books, she sent me a small notebook for whatever I might want to use it.

I decided to use that notebook to write down my pole routines. Before I remembered the notebook, however, I used pieces of computer paper, or scrap paper at the studio, to write down my routines just to help me remember them before I taught them. Those, unfortunately, are lost forever, but I still have my notebook. (for most the pictures, click on them to see the corresponding video!)

stefynotebook

My students are very familiar with the notebook since I have it out during almost every poleography class. Sometimes I can remember the routines well, and sometimes they seem to slip right out of my head and I have to look back at what I wrote down in order to jog my memory.

randompages

The last routine I put together took up the last page of my notebook. It’s full! Yes, there were some pages that were just notes or fragmented ideas that were torn out, but I would say fewer than ten. My trusty notebook that has accompanied me through more than two years of pole routines, both class and competition, has served its full purpose. No longer will it endure the tortures of my pole bag, which often doubles as my pool and beach bag, getting sand and water all over the pages.

sail

I have a new notebook now, one my dad gave me a while ago that he got as a freebie at his job. Since he’s a metallurgist, the covers of this notebook are made out of metal (and so will hopefully keep my precious routines safe). I’ve always loved blank notebooks (and full ones: I’m pretty sure I still have some from high school and college full of notes) and I’m so excited to see what fills its pages. I hope a winning routine graces its lines in the coming years!

cantbetamed

Leave a Reply

