Good Man – Devour the Day

Screen Shot 2014-06-26 at 2.55.29 PM

Pole dancers tend to focus on tricks: the craziest, most death-defying tricks that require the most strength or flexibility. We watch Youtube videos and pick out a 3 second segment that we watch over and over again, trying to figure out which way that hand goes, and where the bottom leg goes when the top hand switches positions. I love learning new tricks, but as I’ve been learning, especially when it comes to competitions, it’s not always all about the tricks. Most competitions have a required floorwork element to them, and depending on the studio you come from, you may not be very familiar with how to move away from the pole. I wanted to focus on the floor and using the bottom couple feet of the pole to move, instead of having to climb for each move. Some of my favorite videos to watch are Eva Bembo, Olga Koda, Sarah Jade, and Alethea Austin, so I knew I wanted to play with my legs and slide around on the floor. I think we did a great job of achieving that goal!

Leave a Reply

