Let It Go – Frozen (sung by Idina Menzel)

Screen Shot 2014-06-26 at 3.15.04 PM

I didn’t have a lot of time last week to put together a routine for Monday’s class since I was focused on the FPFC, but I did have an idea of where I wanted to go with it. I choreographed just a tiny bit at the beginning to get things started, and then I wanted to freestyle to this song. I think it has a wonderful message, one that everyone needs to actually listen to and experience. We constantly have things we need to let go: it can be as small as something hurtful a coworker or boss said to you, or as big as a significant relationship. I can think of multiple things off the top of my head that I need to let go of: being hard on myself is one of them. Expectations of how I thought life would go, expectations others have of me… I need to let go of expectations that can no longer be met. In sixth grade I wanted to have a book published by the age of 25. I’m 26 now, and no manuscript even exists, so I think I need to stop seeing myself as a failure for not having achieved that expectation for myself, however unrealistic it may have been. There are TONS of expectations everyone has for themselves, and that’s not a bad thing. It’s when you hold yourself to a high level of accountability that is difficult to reach and then you berate yourself for not reaching it that they become a problem.

So anyway, I’m not good at talking about feelings (as my wonderful fiancĂ© knows all too well), so I’m sure I didn’t get the point across in class, but for me, dance is the best way to sort out my feelings. I wanted everyone to pick something they needed to let go of, and dance it out. I feel best with my eyes closed, so once I started freestyling, I closed my eyes unless I ended up away from the pole and needed to find my way back to it. The video is nothing exciting, but it’s nice to see what people come up with without too much direction.

(P.S. I just noticed the thumbnail image: how hilarious is that?! I love the different shapes and suspended animation happening in it.)

Leave a Reply

