Talk Dirty – Jason Derulo ft. 2 Chainz

Time for another upbeat, hip-hop-y, booty-shaking routine! I have to admit these are usually my favorite, in part because they’re generally easier for me to choreograph and in part because I have so much fun doing them. While I definitely see a place for emotional lyrical and contemporary dances (and will do them for both class and personal routines), I am naturally drawn to fun, flirty, somewhat sexy routines that call for pink and sparkly costumes. I like being able to smile at and flirt with the audience since that’s the easiest way for me to engage with the audience. It doesn’t come naturally for me to be able to draw an audience in with raw emotion: definitely an area I need to work on!

I fell in love with this song when I first saw Sarah Jade of Buttercup Pole Dance post that they were using it for a Butterbooties class. I heard it on the radio several times after and couldn’t get it out of my head, so when it came time to put something together for class, this is what happened!

We definitely needed some kind of covering for our knees: kneepads would’ve been best, but only one girl had them, so the rest of us suffered through with legwarmers. Remember last week’s post about everything coming from the hips? We weren’t inverting at all in this class, but the reverse spin definitely required us to lead with our hips and, obviously, the rest of the routine was quite hip-centered!

We will be doing a softer, more lyrical routine next week, so keep an eye out for that one! I have some ideas, but I’ll have to spend some time in the studio to see what will actually work out.

Leave a Reply

