I’m Competing!

I don’t know why I’m just now getting around to announcing it here, but I was selected to compete in the professional division at the Florida Pole Fitness Championship on March 15. I competed as an amateur in the inaugural FPFC in 2012 and as a professional last year. The divisions used to be defined as whether or not you were compensated for pole, either by teaching or performing. I started teaching after my first competition, so last year I was classified as a professional. This year, the divisions were made based on the moves you were allowed to perform: mainly, the amateur division has to keep 3 points of contact on the pole at all times when the hips are above the head. Also, this year the professional division was opened the entire United States, not just Florida. I was very unsure if I would get in: there are some incredible polers in America! I was on pins and needles the entire day we were supposed to find out and I couldn’t focus on anything. I finally got the email around 10:00 that night and was ecstatic! I have some insane competition, but I’m just excited to have a chance to take part in this wonderful event again!

I’m working hard on my routine after finally deciding on a song I love. I want a routine that I love, feel comfortable doing, and am proud of when it’s all said and done. Just a little more than a month to go!

Leave a Reply

