The Mating Game – Bitter:Sweet

I figured it was time to get out of the sadder slow songs and do something a bit more flirty. I took a livestreamed class with Michelle Stanek offered by Body & Pole last Friday (check out upcoming classes here!) and it was a little chilly outside. I feel weird putting on the heat to work out in Florida, so I stayed pretty cool. After the class I worked on the routine for last night but I was so chilly I put my sweatpants on. Michelle’s class called for static poles, so out of pure laziness I left the pole on static and put together a routine that could be done wearing pants. It forced me to do some moves out of my comfort zone and I really like some of what I came up with. So see, sometimes being lazy can be a good thing!

I particularly like the Hollywood spin (the pinwheel spin with hips in front of the pole) down to the butt-up position. I kind of just went into it while playing around, and I thought it was something different. It’s much easier to slide into with pants on than bare legs, and while I didn’t try it, likely easier still with socks on so you can slide on the tops of your feet. I’d like to play more with moves where one hand is on the pole and one is on the ground: Natasha Wang and Eva Bembo are both masters at that while having completely different styles.

I have a song request for next week that is totally out of my comfort zone, so we’ll see how that goes!

One thought on “The Mating Game – Bitter:Sweet

  1. Pingback: Flawless – Beyonce | Bittersweet Katie

Leave a Reply

