Say Something – A Great Big World ft. Christina Aguilera

I heard this song on the radio a couple weeks ago and it stuck with me. I used it for a guided freestyle on Saturday morning but didn’t get any video: it was way too personal of a time to stick a videocamera in there. I taught a few simple combinations so people who weren’t super comfortable with freestyle had something to go to but people could also do whatever they wanted in and around the combinations. In one of those mind-meld moments, I had thought about doing a closed-eye freestyle to that song when I heard it and the next day Tracee Kafer suggested in a Finding Your Freestyle video to go back to the basics and close your eyes when freestyling. It was a sign! So we all closed our eyes and danced blind. It was wonderful. I’ll definitely be doing that again!

I still hadn’t had enough of the song so I wanted to put something together for it. Unfortunately, I didn’t have a lot of time for choreographing, so I ended up with about 25 minutes to come up with a little combination. It’s nothing ground-breaking or even all that interesting to watch, but sometimes that happens. I do like the spin at the beginning and I don’t think I’d ever put an armpit hold spin in a routine before.

3 thoughts on “Say Something – A Great Big World ft. Christina Aguilera

  1. Pingback: January Round Up – Blogs of Note | Pole Dancing Bloggers

  2. Pingback: Flawless – Beyonce | Bittersweet Katie

  3. Pingback: Flawless – Beyonce | Katie Poles

Leave a Reply

