On Being Intentional

I joined the Pole Dancing Bloggers Association a couple of months ago, but I haven’t really done anything to take part in what the lovely ladies (and men!) there have to offer. When I saw the January blog hop post was on the subject of intentions and not resolutions for 2014, I knew I had to write something.

My parents, especially my dad, have always told me to be intentional. They don’t want me to sit back and let life happen to me: they want me to make my own decisions and take an active part in my own life. Indecision is a decision of its own, they told me. Be intentional with what you’re doing, don’t just do it because it’s the easiest or simplest thing to do right then. I was especially reminded of how I should be intentional when talking: don’t just talk to say words. Use your words intentionally to say something meaningful and most desirably, uplifting. I definitely do quite a bit of talking without thinking and have said way too many things that were not meant to be hurtful but probably were just because I wasn’t intentional with my words.

But I don’t want to be intentional with just the big nebulous things like life and speech. I want to be intentional in my movement and my dancing as well. Every little muscle in my body should be moving with thought, not just left behind to do its own thing. If I’m just holding an aysha: my toes need to be pointed from my thighs so my legs are straight; my hips need to be held level; my downward arm needs to be engaged and pushing; my abdomen needs to be held in and stabilized; my head needs to be positioned appropriately; my face needs to have the right expression on it (not a grimace!); and what I need to work on most, my hand on the arm that’s in the elbow grip needs to not be in dinosaur claw mode.

dinosaur hand

I took this screenshot from an old practice video. It’s not horrible, but I still have an awkward wrist/hand thing going on here. I also forgot to turn my hips under and bring my legs down. Lovely.

I am most reminded of my need to be intentional when I watch a video of myself doing a full turn. Like this horrendous gif I just made. WHAT IS MY ARM/HAND DOING?! (I’m wearing the green top, just in case you didn’t know. I don’t want to implicate anyone else here!) It just flops around like I totally forgot about it. Which I did. And it’s not like I’m doing a crazy complicated move either. I’m not focusing on holding an Iron X and therefore forgetting about pointing as hard as I can. I’m doing a simple full turn and just totally ignoring an entire limb. And I know I do it and I still forget to be intentional about it. I’m too focused about going into the next move (which isn’t difficult either). INTENTIONAL. That’s what I need to be. In every part of what I’m doing.

That means I’m not thinking about what comes next. That means I’m not worried about what just happened. That means my entire body and brain are focused on what I’m doing right now and how to make it the best I possibly can.

I’m talking specifically about pole dancing, but that applies to the rest of life too. Be intentional with your movements, your thoughts, your words. You’re the only one in control of your body: use it intentionally!

So that’s my goal for 2014 (and, well, the rest of my life).

This post is part of the Pole Dancing Bloggers Association January blog hop. See all the other posts HERE!

One thought on “On Being Intentional

Leave a Reply

