Vois Sur Ton Chemin – Bruno Coulais

I’ve been watching more competition videos recently and noticed that the competitors don’t usually pick songs to dance to. Instead, they pick music. Especially when it comes to National Aerial Pole Art and international competitions, it seems that the music is either wordless or not a typical song that the average person is used to listening to. So when I started thinking about what I wanted to do for poleography this week, I came up with this song that I’ve had in my iTunes for years. My next-door neighbors my freshman year of college were both French majors and they somehow convinced me to watch a French film called Les Choristes. I was not all about watching a movie with subtitles, but I am SO glad I did. It’s a wonderful movie! Seriously, watch it. Just know that you might cry. There’s also an absolutely beautiful soundtrack, which I downloaded after watching the movie. It’s sung by an all-boy children’s choir and it’s amazing.

I saw Amanda Rose’s California Pole Dance Championship 2013 video and decided to try the floor superman roll she does at :49. It looks so cool! I was  also watching an old video of one of my routines and noticed where my legs where when coming out of a front hook spin with legs in secretary position. I thought I could just go into a climb from there instead of to the floor, so I incorporated that as well. I’m always trying to incorporate more spins into my choreography because a) they’re not super natural to me so I need to work on them more, and b) they’re easier than tricks on the pole so I can put them in the beginner-level routines I teach in poleography classes. I like the first little spin sequence (step around to full turn to back hook with top hand in twisted grip to pinwheel legs to floor) and I think my students did too! That made me really happy. Then I was just messing around and decided to throw a decidedly strange-looking spin in: I call it a trapped stag leg spin. I was lying in bed last night thinking of variations out of it, but I’m not sure if any of them will actually be feasible. But yay for trying new things!

Leave a Reply

