Sail – Awolnation

So, I had a hard time putting something together for this song. I have no idea why, as I love it and know it very well, and usually the better I know a song, the easier it is for me to choreograph for it. I spent way too long on this one and still wasn’t very pleased with the end result. I thought it would be simple and we’d have to add more to the end since I only had about 1:20 choreographed, but I learned that what I might think is simple may not be for other people. The shoulder stand to outside leg hook roll over to plank was FAR more difficult for my students than I anticipated. It wasn’t that they weren’t capable of it due to strength or flexibility: it was more figuring out what body parts went where at what times in order to get into the final position.

I’ve been poling for 2.5 years and have long since left the pain of inside and outside leg hangs, so I’d forgotten how much they can hurt, especially when I was doing a leg hook on the “wrong” side for most people. I play on the pole a LOT, so I didn’t realize that some of the maneuvers I do without thinking – using my legs to lift me up, closing my legs tightly to free up what my hands and arms are doing, moving my body while thinking a step or two ahead – aren’t second nature to everyone else. It challenged me to work on breaking down each movement and explain exactly what I’m doing better. I still need to work on that quite a bit, so I’m glad that teaching this routine took me by surprise.

3 thoughts on “Sail – Awolnation

  1. Hi Katie! :o)

    I just wanted to say hi. I always love seeing your pole stuff, I just wish I were strong enough (or sexy enough!) to pull it off! I’m sure you remember my dancing skills from Miami. ;o) But, maybe one day… If your fabulous gentleman in the heels can give it a go, why shouldn’t I? Hope you are well, love!

Leave a Reply

