So Cold – Breaking Benjamin Freestyle Performance

I know freestyling is a lot of people’s nemesis, but I really enjoy it. I come up with unexpected combinations and transitions, so I always try to film my freestyles so I can go back and figure out how I got into something in a way that I normally wouldn’t. One of my friends at another studio in Jacksonville hosted a fun pole party and around 8 girls performed routines. I love performing and definitely wanted to do a routine, but I didn’t have time to put something together, so I picked a song the morning of and made it up as I went that night. Sometimes I’m very meh about my freestyles, but I really loved this one and am quite proud of what I did. I’d just learned the shoulder mount pop to trapped leg split move the week before and had never seen myself do it: I couldn’t get the right angle to see what I looked like in the mirror and I didn’t get any photos or videos of me doing it. I knew what it was supposed to look like (a.k.a., what Alethea looks like doing it) but I had no idea if I looked like that at all, so it was risky for me to throw it in there, but I’m SO glad I did! I’d also never done the roll down into an elbow hold split before, so I have no idea where that came from. The third move that surprised me was the cradle spin to machine gun: I’d seen it in a video that I can’t find now and tried it twice, but it never worked out for me. I have NO clue why I thought it would be a good idea to do a move I’d never actually completed before, but it worked out. I think a lot of it was performing in front of an audience to a song that I would normally not dance to. Everything else was out of my normal comfort zone, so I guess my moves were too!

I’d love any feedback and constructive criticism.

Leave a Reply

